In the state of Florida, being arrested for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol immediately results in the suspension of your license. However, the length of this restriction on driving varies depending on the severity of your arrest. Is it your first DUI, or your second or third? Were there any casualties or damaged property?
If you have been charged with a DUI and are currently navigating a suspended license, a Florida criminal defense attorney may be able to help. The legal aftermath of a DUI can be tricky, and there are multiple crucial, time-sensitive components to the process, so it’s vital you contact your DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
How Long Can My License Be Suspended After a DUI In Florida?
When you are arrested with a DUI in Florida, your license is suspended immediately. If your breathalyzer results are over the legal limit of 0.08%, it is for at least a six-month period. If you refuse to take a breathalyzer test—which is fully within your rights—it is for at least one year.
The final duration of the suspension is dependent on a couple of different factors, including criminal history. An idea of how long your license can be suspended after a DUI can be determined based on the following:
- First-time offender: If this is your first DUI and there was no property damage or injury to other people, you can likely expect your license to be suspended for up to one year.
- Second-time offender: For second-time offenders, you are looking at a suspension for up to five years.
- Third-time offender: If this is your third DUI, the penalties increase substantially. Your license may be suspended for up to ten years.
- Fourth offense or more: Four or more DUIs are likely to get you a felony charge with harsh fines, prison times, and permanent license suspension.
Other factors can include fatalities resulting from your intoxicated driving or property destruction, which can move your DUI from a misdemeanor charge to a felony. Felony charges are far more serious, and in addition to more jail time and higher fines, your license is likely to be suspended for longer as well.
Can You Challenge Your License Suspension in Florida?
Under Florida law, you can challenge your license suspension up to 10 days after the initial suspension. If you do nothing during the 10-day period, your license suspension will continue for the duration of time determined by the conditions during which you were initially arrested.
It is important you contact your Naples DUI lawyer as soon as you are charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol so they can immediately get to work on defending your driving privileges. Common defenses can range from the unlawful pulling over of your car to faulty breathalyzer results.
Speak With a Skilled DUI Attorney Today
Don’t let those 10 days go by without calling the Law Office of Robert H. Hanaford. His personalized approach to DUI cases has led to the success of many previous DUI clients regaining their driving privileges. Bringing over 38 years of legal experience to the table, you can have peace of mind knowing he is doing everything in his power to get you the best possible results for your case.
For a free legal consultation today, call our law offices at (239) 315-9750 or fill out our online contact form. DUI attorney Robert H. Hanaford is open and respectful to each and every client and will give you the best possible shot at a good defense.